Parallel Worlds

[two pro travel journalists turn amateur bloggers]

Music to make you travel

[photograph © Wylie Maercklein / The WideAngle]

Is there one piece of music that has the power to move you?  Not a song that’ll get your feet tapping or have you burning up the dance floor at cousin Jerry’s wedding. I’m talking music that drums its way into your bones, sings to your soul and has you running for the next bus or plane out of town. If there’s a song that has you needing to explore the world, you’ll know – it’s a powerful feeling.

We asked seven travel bloggers to share the music that inspires them to hit the road. Before you listen to the music that moves them, get your passport ready and pack your bags – we’ll meet you at the border.

PS We’d love to know what song gets you all fired up to travel, so please add a comment below. What song gives me itchy feet? Listen to it here.

Don’t Worry” – Playing For Change

When travelling, you learn for life the things you would have never have learned at school or work. You meet amazing people with fascinating stories. I believe you become a better person when you travel. –– Melvin Boecher / @traveldudes

Ramble On” – Led Zeppelin

Story of my life, man. I left Hawaii after a decade to find the queen of all my dreams, and here I am now. Landed in Morocco, missed the depths of Mordor, slipped by Gollum, and was going round the world – but found my girl and slipped away with her. –– Vago Damitio / @Vagobond

Going to Mexico” – The Steve Miller Band

Something about that opening riff and the sudden wailing chant – “Pack ma bags” sums up the spontaneity of a sudden roadtrip. No plans. Just hit the road. A battered red convertible rumbling south over hot Mexican tarmac. “’53 Studebaker goin’ for broke, pushin’ it night and day.” Call me shallow but – even if we are usually too grown-up to do it – there’s something irresistibly appealing about that reckless shucking off of all responsibilities. Just a note stuck to the fridge door: I’ve gone to Mexico. –– Mark Eveleigh / @Mark_Eveleigh

House of the Rising Sun” – The Animals

It was the summer of 1978 when I took my first road trip into France with 10 friends stacked into two cars. I had just started to play the guitar and the very first song I learned to play was “House of the Rising Sun” by The Animals. While it is not really a travelling song, I must have played it five million times during that trip and hearing it now, 34 years later, or playing it myself, always takes me back to my first real travel experience. –– Raf Kiss / @MotoToursBrazil

Easy” – The Commodores

Although this song chronicles leaving your lover, its overall connection to travel is about gaining freedom. Whenever I hear it, my spirit soars, I feel lighter and hopeful, just as I do prior to every plane, bus or boat that whisks me away to uncharted lands – physically or emotionally. The chorus drips with laid back, devil-may-care intentions, “I’m easy like Sunday morning…”  As travel should be. –– Jeannie Mark / @nomadicchick

Yellow River” – Christie

We like to travel by land wherever possible and quite often this involves either water transport or walking along a riverbank. Once this song gets into my head it’s there for days. I’m obviously too young to remember it when it first came out, but it’s one of those timeless classics that people will still be playing in another 50 years. With lyrics including “So pack my bags I’ll be on my way” and “tomorrow night you’ll find me sleeping underneath the moon”, it should be a recognised traveller’s anthem. –– Andy Jarosz / @501places

Yuhin Chala Chal Rahe” – Swades

I heard the song years ago and love the lyrics and free spirited nature of the traveller, the joy of exploring and being on the road. –– Rebecca Subbiah / @chowandchatter

9 comments on “Music to make you travel

  1. nomadicchick
    January 18, 2012

    Appreciate the inclusion with such varied musical tastes. Cheers!

    • mano@mano
      January 18, 2012

      Thanks so much for your music! Really enjoying listening to the mix this morning. It makes sitting in an office today rather difficult – Narina

  2. It was a lot of fun listening to those tunes, and it’s interesting for me that a couple of them were from “my” generation (baby boomers). I’m surprised there was nothing more “modern”. I wonder why that was?

    By one of those weird, quirky coincidences at the time I logged on to read this my iPod was playing Billy Joel’s ” New York Frame of Mind”…..which is the one which always does it for me. I know it’s specific to one place, but I yearn to be there whenever I hear it.

    • mano@mano
      January 18, 2012

      Beautiful that some songs are able to do that! Don’t usually listen to Jay-Z or Alicia Keys, but parts of their “Empire State of Mind” have me dreaming of visiting NYC. – Narina

  3. rebecca
    January 18, 2012

    fun post guys really enjoyed it 🙂

    • mano@mano
      January 18, 2012

      Thanks for contributing Rebecca! A colleague leaves in two weeks for a six-month cycle around China, India and Tibet – she says your song has her longing to be in India already. – Narina

  4. Mark Eveleigh
    January 23, 2012

    Great to get a chance to write with you all. I really enjoyed your inspiration…not that I needed too much. Bag already packed. haha.
    Your comment on Billy Joel got me thinking too Islandmomma – for sure he’s done a few ‘roadtrip’ ditties. ‘Why do I go to Extremes’ springs to mind: maybe, once again, more of a rebel song than a travel tune. Maybe the two things often go hand-in-hand. Something in me would like to think so…
    Hope we get to write together again sometime soon.
    ME

  5. Julia
    March 15, 2012

    I’ma have to add “Pura Vida,” by Braddigan, and “Indiasong” by India.Arie!

  6. Hilary
    October 15, 2012

    Fantastic toons!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,754 other followers

Titles we’ve contributed to include:

Interested in finding out what we do, or how to get hold of us? Please click on the image above, and you'll be taken to our "about" page.
