Parallel Worlds

[two pro travel journalists turn amateur bloggers]

Madiba, and the roads we walk

Madiba 2

[words by Narina Exelby]

I picked some flowers today. They were yellow. We call them everlastings: flowers that continue, over years sometimes, to bring colour through the mist, and rain, and wind, and unbearable heat. I picked them from the side of a road, a road you once travelled, and then lay them at the place that marks where you were captured, but that now celebrates your life – and ultimately our freedom. And quietly, I remembered all the roads I’ve travelled and the people I’ve met along the way; roads along which, the further I walk, reveal beyond doubt that people in this world are kind, and good. Thank you for opening those roads, Tata Madiba; my life – all our lives – are so much richer for you. May you walk forever free.

4 comments on “Madiba, and the roads we walk

  1. Mark Eveleigh
    December 6, 2013

    Beautifully put. It’s a strange and hauntingly sad day to be in SA but I’m glad I was with you when you picked your flowers.

  2. Steven
    December 13, 2013

    A lovely tribute, and beautifully put.
    A sad day indeed, but the world is a better place for people like Madiba.

    • Parallel Worlds
      December 13, 2013

      Thanks Steven; we really do live in a better place because of him.

  3. Anja
    December 24, 2013

    Beautiful Nuns – makes me so proud to be a South African:)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 6, 2013 by in Africa.
